Showing posts with label Tom. Show all posts
Showing posts with label Tom. Show all posts

Friday, March 19, 2010

Survivor H/V: Week 5

Week 5:
No Chocalate + Focus = Blown Out Knee


I won’t even hide it... I’m sad to see Tom go. Unlike some people who get voted out early, he really fought hard the whole game. I think his million dollar win was a target that never quite got unstuck. Despite being, what seemed, still pretty strong in challenges, J.T. had to vote against him to earn some kind of trust back from his other tribe-mates. I’m curious to see if James, Rupert and Amanda will still hold that strong loyalty. All three of the aforementioned are followers when it comes to alliances, so J.T. will probably still be able to guide them with a leash. I don’t think it was a good move on their part, especially with James with such a bad injury. They did not have me fooled for an instant. I don’t care how strong James is, that vote was totally based on alliances. The Heroes are in deep trouble, and even if they started to win some challenges, it may not be enough to catch up with the Villains when a merge happens. I think the Heroes know that, so they are starting to prepare now.

Some thoughts...

* Another brutal reward challenge. I’m seeing a trend. Reward challenge: physical. Immunity challenge: some physical and puzzle. If this keeps up, the Heroes will never win.

* Wow, Jerri took a shot to the face. Rupert did try to help her up, but I don’t think Jerri will ever forget that move. As soon as a merge happens, I bet she guns after Rupert. Colby will be thanking Rupert later.

* James’ injury was hard to watch, especially when he got back up to walk. It was clear that the Heroes were going to loose when he went down. I don’t think it was the lack of numbers that caused them to loose, but you could see the momentum just drift away from their “no chocolate” imitation strategy.

* Speaking of, I was ready to see Jeff and Colby throw down! I love how Jeff doesn’t back down from anybody.

* You know Russell was going to find that idol. Now I’m changing my thinking about him now being a “marked man.” That was really stupid for the others not to look for that thing. He really does hold the power, and like I said last week, if they vote for him, Boston Rob may be gone. So what if he’s a marked man?

* I have to admit to something. I actually stood up for Coach. Yes, and I was proven wrong immediately. When Russell started talking about bringing Coach into his alliance with Parvati, I thought, “No way! Coach is way too loyal to everybody else. Plus, Russell clearly didn’t join in the group yoga session.” I should’ve known better because Coach now has a bigger man crush on Russell and even bowed down to him. Like Russell needed another ego boast. Watch out for these three because if a merge happens, they will quickly grab J.T., Candace or Colby.

* As for the immunity challenge, it was just sad to see the Heroes loose like that... AGAIN! If I were at camp, I would constantly be creating puzzles for everybody just so they could be somewhat prepared. And as much as I hate to admit it, James did a great job “calling” out to everybody.

* Finally, I’m glad Tom called James out on his “strategy.” Somebody finally needed to do it. I’ve never quickly changed my opinion on a player like I have James this season. He really does seem to be a completely different person.

As you probably noticed, the NCAA tournament knocked a new episode from being aired this week. Don’t forget that the next one is this coming WEDNESDAY.

Sic’ em!

Wednesday, March 10, 2010

Survivor H/V: Week 4

Week 4: This is my tribe, and I can cry if I want to


Our first blindside! I told you that it may be coming. Cirie has always been such a strong strategic player, so it was sad to see her go in that respect. It’s always fun to see how she can twist people to think her way or how she smacks sense into them. Nobody has been aware of it, except for J.T. I know that although the vote happened for strategic purposes, I think it was the best vote for the tribe strategically. If they want to win challenges, Cirie probably wasn’t their biggest contributor. She did always play the role as the mother of the tribe, so from a gelling standpoint, I wonder how they will be affected.

Some thoughts...

* You know that when you are going to Tyson for comfort, something may be a little loose in the brain. Coach’s breakdown was hilarious and I love Tyson’s advice to him, “Get rid of the feather, don’t tell your stories, and do your yoga by yourself.”

* The slip and slide reward challenge was somewhat entertaining, but really was anybody’s game. I do love when it comes down to one last shot. I’ve personally enjoyed just the one immunity challenge.

* Could the producers be even more blunt in the immunity idol clue? Well, I think it worked because it was pretty entertaining to watch everybody scramble. The Heroes nearly killed each other while the Villains of all people, decided that anybody who goes for it is immediately a target.

* Even in a villains tribe, Russell is the only one who has to completely march to his own beat. You know, even if he finds it, he will have power. Even if everybody decides to vote for him with the idol, one of them is going home (Boston Rob perhaps?).

* The immunity challenge was really fast. It was over before I knew it. Once again, it was a incredibly close and I’m glad nobody fainted and passed out this time.

* I don’t know how to really sum up what happened next, but it’s pretty amazing that Tom and Colby are still alive in this game. It’s obvious that J.T. has all the power, so it will be interesting to see what happens when they all get back to camp. He’ll probably turn on his country charm and everybody will forgive him, but I can’t help but think if he’s playing too hard too fast.
Regardless, I think this will help with Parvati’s argument on the other side of camp, because her “ally” is now gone.

* We watched the episode on that Thursday night, so sorry if my recap isn’t as detailed. If I don’t write them right after I see them, sometimes I forget the funny parts.

Until next week!

Tuesday, February 23, 2010

Survivor H/V: Week 2

Week 2:
One Voice!

I’m so intrigued by this season, and kudos to the producers for splitting up the tribes the way they have. I think it’s so interesting that you have a heroes tribe that is every word in the sense, self-destructing. They have their camp together perfectly, but Probst isn’t too far off when he says that ego is getting in their way. These people are use to winning and when it doesn’t happen, things go haywire. It’s almost as if they are strategizing too much at this point instead of focusing on winning.

Then you have the Villains tribe who are so individualistic, the camp is in shambles, but when it’s time to compete and win, they do. Just from a viewer standpoint, I would love to see the Heros start winning some challenges, but it’s going to be a tough task.

It was sad to see Stephanie go. She’s now complete the life cycle of a Survivor. The first to be on the jury one season, the final another, and now the second one gone. She really became a scapegoat and it was hard to see such a strong female leave so early. This was not a good move solely from a challenge standpoint. They are really going to miss her as time goes by.

Some thoughts...

* Woah James... There’s a difference between leadership and being a bully. He sure had it out for Steph.

* I loved how Colby and Tom stood up for Steph at tribal council. Things aren’t looking to good for them right now.

* Watch out for Cirie and Candace. They could be very dangerous together, and as much as I wanted them to go with Tom, Colby and Steph, they were smarter to stick with the other group.

* What? An episode that didn’t highlight Russell? It felt a little strange didn’t it? But nice at the same time.

* I forgot about how good Boston Rob is at this game. Yes he is cocky and defines a Survivor villain, but I forgot how good he is at challenges. As chaotic as the Villains tribe is, at least they know how to appoint a leader.

I’m still loving this season. I’m thrilled every time I have a chance to watch it. Let me know what you think! I love the feedback!

Friday, February 12, 2010

Survivor H/V: Week 1

Week 1:
Shoulders, Toes, and Bras. Oh my!


I’m already hyped up for what seems like a great season. I loved this first episode. When I saw the first all-stars, it was different because it was first time that I had seen the show. This time around, I recognize everybody, which makes it a lot more fun.

We had some power issues, so our DVR didn’t record the last 30 minutes of the show after the immunity challenge, so we missed all of of that, but it quickly became apparent that Sugar was going to be the first victim. Really, no surprise there and I never really liked her the first time, so I’m okay with more competitive people being around.

What I like so far about this season is that the past winners aren’t immediately a direct target like they were in the All-Stars season. That may change as the season goes along, especially in the last final tribal council, but this time around it seems like everybody is starting fresh from scratch.

Here are my quick thoughts, and hopefully Boston Rob will be around after the next episode. He’s too entertaining not to have around!

* Awesome opening challenge. It couldn’t have played out better.

* It’s funny how easily it is to start rooting for the heroes. They really assembled a strong group with those guys.

* Coach owned Colby. Thus, there will be millions of parents naming their children Coach in the future.

* Bras are meant for support, but sometimes they can be hindering to your ultimate goal. How great was it that Sugar won that battle?

* Stephanie dislocates her shoulder, puts it back and doesn’t complain about it afterwards. This is why everybody loves her.

* People better watch out for J.T. I like the idea of Tom and him working together. It reminds me of when Tom aligned himself with Ian.

* Rupert is not looking good so far. That toe will catch up to him and so far it doesn’t look like he is making good connections within his tribe.

* I loved Russell last season, but two seasons in a row may be a little overkill. It’s like going to high school with the guy with little-man syndrome and then finding out he is sitting next to you in your first college class. A little bit of Russell goes a long way. I do like that he has more of a challenge this time around.

* I forgot how cool Colby is. He may be my man crush like Coach has a man crush for Boston Rob.

* If Boston Rob sticks around, him and Sandra could make a lethal combination. Although she’s not my favorite, I love how comfortable she is in her own skin.

* Also, watch out for Cirie. How do people overlook her every time?

* And for my final thought.... Coach + Jeri = Ewwwwwwww

Until next week!